About yoga

Yoga is an ancient discipline based on a harmonious development of body, mind, and spirit. Yoga means “union” and is derived from the Sanskrit root “yuj” indicating the physical and spiritual union of opposing entities. Mind and body, stillness and movement, male and female, sun and moon, these are some of the opposites that the practice of yoga aims to reconcile and balance.

There are many different styles of yoga: fast-paced and vigorous or very gentle and slow-moving. All of the styles of yoga have benefits, so evaluating your individual needs and personality type will help choose the right practice. Read a description of the style of yoga offered at Casa Yoga.

Benefits of Yoga: a constant practice of the postures/asana gives flexibility and muscle strength, maintains elastic joints and relieves stiffness of the spine. Moreover, the special attention given to the breath allows a greater awareness of your body, creating a feeling of well being and psycho-physical balance. Below are just some of the benefits of yoga:

  • Brings balance and harmony to the body, mind and spirit
  • Revitalizes the body and mind
  • Increases circulation and reduce high blood pressure
  • Strengthens and stretches muscles
  • Helps to detoxify
  • Improves internal organs health
  • Balances muscular system
  • Increases energy and metabolism
  • Helps with strength, flexibility and balance
  • Calms the mind and can help reduce depression, stress and insomnia

Philosophical aspects of Yoga:
yoga is not a technique, it is not limited to the execution of positions or breathing exercises but, through them, acts on a deeper level whose goal is the union between the body and the mind, between the individual and the universal consciousness.

The benefits that derive from Yoga are only partly physical, since a constant practice strengthens our muscular and bone structure, but above all of a mental nature as a constant practice increases self-awareness and a sense of calm and general well-being as shown by many studies that promote this discipline not only in private life but also in the workplace or in recovery programs.

Yoga is a journey towards spirituality and the achievement of inner peace and happiness, so much so that Patanjali in his “Yoga Sutra”, one of the most important texts of classical Yoga, organizes this path in eight stages or eight limbs:

Yama (universal ethical and moral principles)
Niyama (personal guidelines)
Asana (postures)
Pranayama (breath control)
Pratyahara (retraction of the senses)
Dharana (concentration)
Dhyana (meditation)
Samadhi (state of grace, contemplation)